The Homeless Adjunct: A New Blog Host

I’ve decided to migrate my blog, The Homeless Adjunct, from the www.junctrebellion.com site to a wordpress site, because it is much harder to get the blogs out into the wider world from an Apple website.  So, I’ll begin blogging here starting now, and will invite you to visit my website for the archived blogs that I posted there in the past.

It feels important that the blog begin to develop a wider readership, especially now that the situation with adjunct faculty labor abuse has become more of a topic nationally.  It is also important because beginning within the next few weeks, our documentary/book project will begin to pick up speed, and there will be a lot to share here.

We will be posting not only our own blogs, but also linking to other important conversations about adjunct faculty labor abuse, and the related issues.  Building a broad base and a wide network is crucial to raising awareness and extending that awareness beyond the academic circles where too much of the conversation, so far, has taken place.

For those of you interested in the art of the site, I would like to tell you that the photograph in the background, of the ruined and upturned classroom is an open source photo called “Second Floor Classroom” By Rinabodina, from a series taken from the abandoned Bennett College.  This can be found on Flickr.  The header shot was another open source called “College Revisited” by Spark Fish, also on Flickr.  I think that the images portray exactly the way I feel about what has happened to the university of America.  It is in ruins.

This entry was posted in The Breakdown of the American University System. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Homeless Adjunct: A New Blog Host

  1. welcome to the new location ~ very nice and easy on the eye. Just tweeted an invitation to drop by and leave comments as housewarming (blogwarming?) gifts. Now to update my rss reader for the new feed.

  2. Paul Kronos says:

    Just a quick squirt of electrons to update you on a new sighting. Last summer at this time, on a daily basis, I would check out the Culinary Arts listings on HigherEdJobs.com and saw many, many listings for full time tenure track positions at community colleges and culinary schools. This summer it has all changed and it appears that 90% or more of the “season’s” posting are for part time adjunct faculty. This is a most dramatic change and further evidence of your blog’s principal overarching educational trend and theme.

  3. I am one of the well-educated adjunct academics teaching in the community college system. The moment I arrived, in marked contrast to a full-time university gig I had, I quickly learned that nobody would display the slightest interest in my work or honors I have received. For example, two years into this job, I was honored to receive a special invitation to travel to Europe (all expenses paid), so that I could present a master’s class for an international group of scholars in my area of expertise. When I shared the fantastic news with one of the few tenured faculty, to my utter surprise, he simply asked me if that would interfere with my teaching. I did not get a congratulations at all. Hence, I have always felt like a ship passing in the night and do not share a thing with any of them.

Leave a Reply

